The North Andover Historical Society was founded in 1913 by Samuel Dale Stevens to preserve the history and traditions of his community. An early collector of both local and New England objects, he was particularly interested in documenting everyday life from 1690 to 1830. Exhibits chronicle the early history of the town from its incorporation as Andover in 1646, separation as the North Parish in 1710, re-incorporation as North Andover in 1855 and the town’s role in the modern world.

The Society maintains two sites that feature museum galleries. Museum Gallery: Permanent and changing exhibits featuring North Andover in the 17th through 20th centuries. The 1789 Johnson Cottage: An artisan’s home and workshop, showcasing daily life of men and women in the mid-nineteenth century. Includes collections of early New England furniture, pewter, tools, household items and local artifacts.

The Historical Society maintains a Library/Archive that houses personal, town and church records documenting the community since 1646. The library also contains genealogies, photographs, ephemera and an inventory of historically and architecturally significant North Andover buildings. The 1715 Parson Barnard House: Home of Andover’s third minister, Thomas Barnard. The house features furnished rooms, gardens, exhibits and architectural evolution that depict community life from 1715 to 1830.