The Ames-Florida-Stork House was built by the original settlers of Rockford between 1856 and 1860 along the banks of the Crow River. The last living member of the Florida family sold it to the Stork family in 1937, who worked to preserve the large textile, artifact, and document collection. The house earned recognition on the National Register of Historic Places in the 1970s and the Rockford Area Historical Society has worked for over 25 years to continue the preservation of this local gem.